Posted by: Hereandthere40 | November 29, 2011

Brazil: A few Interesting Facts

  • Brazil is one of the very few countries that have successfully managed to reduce economic inequality in their population in recent times, when inequities are growing in so many other places. Namely the USA.
  • Brazil is 100% energy independent. Brazil became energy independent in 2006.  In the past Brazil used to import as much as 70% of their energy.  A huge turn around!
  • Brazil has the world’s seventh largest economy. Some of the major exports are aircraft, coffee, cars, iron ore, corned beef, shoes, steel, orange juice and textiles.
  • Brazil is the largest Catholic nation in the world.
  • The Amazon River is the mightiest on Earth – The powerful discharge at the mouth of the Amazon measures about eight trillion gallons a day, 60 times that of the Nile and eleven times that of the Mississippi.
  • Brazil has the 9th highest number of billionaires in the world.
  • Brazil has the greatest biodiversity of any country, and the most species of plants, freshwater fish, and mammals.

Trivia facts about Brazil.  Brazil statistics for trivia.  Reasons to visit brazil.  Brazil is the switzerland of the west.  Brazil is neutral like switzerland.  Girls in Manaus Brazil.  Meeting women in Manaus Brazil.  Places to meet women in Manaus Brazil.  


Responses

  1. All very intersting and I did not know ANY of those impressive facts!
    TY

  2. Sounds like a good place. Does this mean you are planning to stay there for an extented period of time? I’m sure Christmas in Brazil would be very inspirational. Love, G. Betty P.S. We are getting snow right now.

  3. I think I’ve heard recently that there are a fair number of Americans moving to Brazil.

    • I believe it, there are a lot of Japenese and Germans moving to Brazil. Japan and Germany are at the forefront of quality manufacturing and engineering. I think they see a lot of opportunity in Brazil because of the economic growth, and macrofinancing available through the government of Brazil.

  4. I’m heading to Brazil in a couple of weeks – good to get a few facts before I head over there…. thanks… and whilst I’m at it, any essential phrases I should know?!

    • I do not speak Portuguese, but I do speak Spanish. So while in Brazil I spoke a lot of Spanish, and the locals seemed to understand just fine. However, I couldn’t understand them as easily. Everyday I would try to learn a few words. The people are really easy-going, they will appreciate any effort you may make.

  5. Any plans to come back to Brazil, Lucas? I have lived here as a volunteer at an ecological project for the past ten years. We are located about a hour from Goiania in the state of Goias in central Brazil. Would love to meet you if you are going to be in the area any time. hugs, pat

  6. I sure hope to make it back someday. I found the divine in myself while in Brazil, and it will always hold a special place in my heart. I will let you know if/when. Thanks for doing such a great job blogging, Pat. I read your blog as often as possible.


Leave a Reply

Categories

