Posted by: Hereandthere40 | March 29, 2012

Coconuco & Popayan, Colombia

Last week, I visited my friends: John, Pilar, and Ana Maria in Popayan.  Just an hour from Popayan, is Coconuco.  Coconuco is a one-street tiny little mountain village, with thermal sulfur springs.  Probably the most affordable day trip I have taken in recent memory.  About 7 US dollars for the entrance and transportation from Popayan.  The ambiance of the village exceeded the therapeutic value of the springs.  The fresh air of the mountains, combined with the brilliant colors of the village, and indigenous peoples hospitality and sincerity made the trip worth while.

View of Popayan (The white city) from hillside

Waterfall in Coconuco, a few hundred meters before the entrance to Aguas Hirviendes.

Series of hot spring pools at Aguas Hirviendes, Coconuco.

Well loaded/decorated bus in center of Coconuco, Colombia.

Coffee break, notice the red cup.


Responses

  1. Luke, there is no sufficient way to thank you for including me in your exciting adventures around the world.

    I remember someone, who is VERY close to you, saying, “I’m tired of seeing the world thru other people’s pictures!”

    Want you to know that is the only way I will see the world in my lifetime. Thanks for the grand tour.

    Hugs,
    A. Pat

    • Very kind of you to say. Everybody is different. I think that I too have problems learning about the world through other peoples pictures. I hope 2012 is a great year for you and your family. I know this year has taught me some important lessons. Love you-LR


Leave a Reply

Categories

